1770s Undies – Part 3: Hoopskirt & Pockets

IMG_2463Alrighty, so I’m moving on to pockets which sit on top of the corset and the hoopskirt that goes over both!
(Better pics coming I promise)

Pockets:

– Pattern: Butterick xxxx

– Fabric & notions: light canvas, blue, grey, and yellow embroidery floss, blue bias tape

– Easy to make. My first forray into embroidery. Found some images and stitch guides on Pinterest. Tip: don’t worry  if images aren’t perfectly similar or even the same at all – many extant examples don’t have matching pockets.

 

Hoopskirt

– Pattern: Butterick xxxx

– Fabric & notions: ivory broadcloth polyester blend (linen would have been more accurate but I don’t have the $$ for that). 40 yards of spring steel. 4 packages of bias binding. 4 yards of thick cord.

– Precision is your friend! I didn’t have any trouble with this pattern but I was meticulous with marking, pinning, pressing, basting. I can see how easily this pattern could get thrown off by eyeballing it.

…to be continued…

 

Leave a comment